Image Of The Day

Tropical Cyclone Marcus

On March 19 at 1 a.m. EST (0500 UTC) the VIIRS instrument aboard NOAA’s NOAA-20 satellite showed Marcus’ center just off the coast of northwestern Australia.

True-color imagery is created by combining data from the three color channels on the VIIRS instrument sensitive to the red, green and blue (or RGB) wavelengths of light into one composite image. Data from several other channels may also be included to cancel out or correct atmospheric interference that may blur parts of an image.

By 11 a.m. EST (1500 UTC) on March 19, Marcus continued moving away from the Kimberley coast. The Australian Bureau of Meteorology or ABM noted there is no further threat of gales on the coast.

Marcus had maximum sustained winds near 80 mph (70 knots/130 kph). It was centered near 15.5 degrees south latitude and 121.2 degrees east longitude. That’s about 130 miles/210 kilometers west northwest of Cape Leveque and 183 miles/295 kilometers north northwest of Broome. Marcus was moving to the west at 16 mph (14 knots/26 kilometers) per hour.

NOAA-20, designated JPSS-1 prior to launch, is the first of NOAA’s latest generation of U.S. polar-orbiting, non-geosynchronous, environmental satellites called the Joint Polar Satellite System. NOAA-20 was launched on November 18, 2017 and joined the Suomi National Polar-orbiting Partnership satellite in the same orbit.

Credit:  Joseph Smith / Rob Gutro NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center

Continue reading